Posted by: gotjukies | November 12, 2008

First-hand experience of generosity

Sometimes, things that happen take a little bit of time to reflect on before we realize its importance. As they say, ‘hindsight is 20/20’. But sometimes, when we are lucky, we are able to understand the situation as it unfolds making the experience even more poignant.

Last Saturday, I visited Charlotte Bignotti, a Resurrection Parishioner, who offered to donate a ping pong table. As we were loading the table, I shared with Charlotte RYM’s vision and our activities and she was very happy to be supporting such an active group. So much so, that she started to find other things that would help us out. I was moved by her generosity. Especially when she mentioned that she was out earlier that morning delivering food to families who were unable to leave their homes due to physical ailments and handicaps. As she convinced me to take a small little beanbag ottoman and inkjet printer off her hands, I caught myself admiring her selflessness. I couldn’t help but walk away that morning feeling a bit conflicted. On one hand, I was super excited about the almost new ping pong table, and the printer was definitely on my wish list. But at the same time, her generosity made me reflect on what I’ve done (or haven’t done) lately to help those in need…

3017813423_fff0a59a66

3018644800_e24d4a941f

Thank you Charlotte! You are a special person and we will keep you in our prayers…

Responses

  1. Primera! And, yes, a huge thank you for the support and kindness. We may just be a group of kids who take wierd pictures, but it’s nice to know that someone is so selflessly encouraging of our little family.

  2. You know, I just realized, it really was an act of faith. I mean, what if I was just making up all that stuff about our youth group? She’s never met me, or seen our group before. For all she knows, I could’ve just taken the darn thing home.

    Hmm….darn thing home eh….

  3. ooh that’s true . . . but we all know you would never do that . . . right?
    just kidding – she saw that our fearless leader and us have created a really positive environment, and, as a good person, wanted to help perpetuate that. go community support!!!

  4. since when did we get a ping pong table?

    i guess I have missed a few too many SNL’s recently lol

    and im missing this one too because of a debate tournament… wow my schedule is way too busy

  5. @Alex:

    Hope you’re hangin’ in there buddy


Leave a Reply

Categories

